Databases

If you're looking for current, reliable information from a wide variety of resources, including research in specialized subject areas, then try using these Library databases. 

A database is an indexed collection of articles and data from sources that include encyclopedias, newspapers, professional & trade journals, popular magazines, and specialty publications.  Each one offers a different set of titles, features, and date range of publication.  Some articles are provided in full-text, along with images such as photographs or tables; in some cases only a citation is provided.  

Select the following links for online access; these resources are available to all Kirkwood Public Library card holders and are accessible from home, work or in the library (some databases are accessible in the library only). Please enter your card number (without spaces) when prompted. 

Click more info to see a description of a listed database.


Databases by Topic

Databases A-Z

Databases by Topic

Automobile Repair ChiltonLibrary more info
     
Business Gale Power Search more info
  Optimal Resume more info
  Sorkins Directory (In Library Use Only) more info
  Wall Street Journal more info
     
Consumers Consumer Reports more info
     
Employment LearningExpress Library more info
  Optimal Resume more info
     
Encyclopedia World Book Online more info
     
Genealogy American Obituaries & Death Notices more info
  Ancestry Library Edition (In Library Use Only) more info
  Heritage Quest Online more info
  MOREnet - Missouri Digital Heritage more info
     
Health Consumer Health Complete more info
  Salem Health - In Library | From Home* more info
   * From home, use password 2130000  
     
Literature FirstSearch more info
  Novelist Plus more info
     
Magazines EBSCO Host more info
  EBSCO Mobile more info
  Gale Power Search more info
     
Newspapers American Obituaries & Death Notices more info
  EBSCO Host more info
  Gale Power Search more info
  MOREnet more info
 
  St. Louis Post Dispatch on Newsbank  
  Wall Street Journal more info
     
Reader's Advisory Novelist Plus more info
     
Science Science Reference Center more info
     
Students Gale Discovering Collection more info
  Kids Search more info
  LearningExpress Library more info
  Searchasaurus more info
  Student Research Center more info
  World Book Online more info

 


Databases A-Z 

American Obituaries & Death Notices

The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices. Extensive editorial review of all newspaper sections ensures thorough selection of obituaries for easy access. An easy-to-use interface allows searching by name, date range, or text such as institutional name, social affiliation(s), geographic location(s), and philanthropic activities.

   

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for library users. It gives patrons instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. Includes records from the United States census; military records; court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists, and more.  This database is only accessible in the library.

   
ChiltonLibrary

 

ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.

   
 Consumer Health Complete

 

Consumer Health Complete is an EBSCO database that focuses on health issues.  To find articles on health issues use this link!

   
Consumer Reports

Search the EBSCO database for articles in Consumer Reports.

   
EBSCO Host

 

Search for articles in hundreds magazines, journals, and newspapers.

   
EBSCO Mobile

On a mobile device?  Use this link to search all of EBSCO's articles.  Great for searching on the run.  
   
FirstSearch

OCLC FirstSearch is a database of millions of items. Search the FirstSearch catalog to locate items that are not owned by Kirkwood Public Library.  Such items may be requested directly from FirstSearch using the ILL (interlibrary loan) tab or contact the Information Services desk in person, via Email,or by calling 314-821-5770, ext. 1012.

   
Gale Discovering Collection

Gale Discovering Collection offers students the "whole picture" on any curriculum topic. Award-winning reference content from Gale develop critical-thinking skills by placing people, places, events and primary documents in context.

   
Gale Power Search

Gale PowerSearch is a platform providing a sophisticated, yet simple, solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference and primary source information.

PowerSearch provides you with access to all the Gale content in your library's collection through one, single search query.

   
HeritageQuest Online

 

HeritageQuest Online allows you to search images of the U.S. Federal census records from 1790 up to 1930. This database offers users over 20,000 book titles that inlude 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories.
   
Kids Search

Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
   
LearningExpress Library
  Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.
 
MOREnet

You can easily search multiple resources for quick subject and database searching on a single page! This search includes databases listed below such as Business Source and Discovering Collection. Additionally the search will include the St. Louis Post Dispatch and the Kansas City Star.

   
Newsbank
  Source types include printed and online local newspapers. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. And now with the St. Louis Post Dispatch.
   
Novelist Plus

NoveList Plus - Your Guide to Reading. More than 150,000 fiction titles, 50,000 nonfiction titles and over 4,000 custom created articles and lists! Find information by author, title, read-a-likes, genre or subject.
   
Optimal Resume

Optimal Resume - a one stop place for help with interviews, resumes, cover letters and letters of recommendation.  You will need to set up an account in order to fully store all your documents online.

   
Salem Health 

In Library Access

From Home Access, Password 2130000

Salem Health brings online access to Salem Press’ award-winning health reference work, Magill’s Medical Guide, Seventh Edition.
 
 
Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals.
   
Searchasaurus

Searchasaurus makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find useful search results.
   
Sorkins Directory

Sorkins provides business search capabilities and in-depth profiles for companies, subsidiaries, and organizations in the St. Louis, Kansas City, and Chicago metropolitan areas, and the surrounding counties in: IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MO, WI.  This database is only accessible in the library.

   
Student Research Center

EBSCO's Student Research Center makes it easy for students to search by keyword or topic to find useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type—magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
   
Wall Street Journal

 

This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers complete bibliographic information and companies, people, products, etc.

   
 World Book

World Book Online Reference Center, the premier online reference source-containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. With state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor-reviewed Web sites.